top of page

Learn More About The Area...

Cayuga County

Cayuga County Housing Resources:

Auburn Housing Authority-
7 Merriman St, Auburn, NY 13021
(315) 253-6249



Formed in 1799, Cayuga County encompasses an area of 864 square miles and is located in the Finger Lakes Region of New York State. With approximately 170 square miles of the county consisting of water, Cayuga County has more waterfront land than any other county in the state that is not adjacent to the Atlantic Ocean. As the county is home to many lakes, Owasco Lake sits at its center, while Cayuga Lake forms part of the western border, Lake Ontario is situated at the northern border, and Skaneateles and Cross Lakes contribute to part of the eastern border.. Within the county, there are twenty three towns, nine villages, and only one city.


Historically, the county was occupied by the Cayuga Native Americans, who were members of the Iroquois Confederacy. Attracted to the vast rolling hills for the agricultural benefits, the Cayuga Tribe maintained Villages in the area until the late 18th Century, thus earning the region the moniker of Cayuga County. After the Revolutionary War, the area’s farms and land were highly coveted by European immigrants from Italy and Poland. These new immigrants flocked to the land and either took over existing farms, or developed new farms.


Auburn, the county’s only city, is also steeped in vital history. Located within the city are the Estates of wildly active abolitionists William H. Seward and Harriet Tubman. Their homes and legacies are now recognized as Historical National Parks, and available for public tours.


Boasting a plethora of waterfront, Cayuga County is proud home to many state parks. Included in this list, is the Village of Moravia’s Fillmore Glen State Park, and the Village of Fair Haven’s own Fair Haven Beach State Park. Offering the public dazzling waterfalls and scenic views, the parks are perfect for hiking, fishing, boating, and swimming.

bottom of page